One of our customers contacted us about our I am the Motor design. He mentioned he owned one of our hoodies (purchased from Phat Tire Bike Shop in Arkansas.)

 “I have worn a hoodie of yours that has it (I am the Motor) on there and people love it….. I am just very proud of this because after nearly losing my leg in a car crash, I can still ride and be proud.

Our staff  immediately wanted to know more and asked Eric if we could share his story on our blog. So here it is! I hope it inspires you as much as it has inspired us here at Cyclelogical. ~AT

Name-Eric Scripp

Where do you live-Derby, Kansas

Job-Sales associate at GlobalParts.Aero 

How long have you been commuting and or just been cycling-Cycling since July of 2011

What got you interested in biking-I wanted a low impact sport where I gain rebuild my leg muscle. 

Explain what happened to you in September 2009:

I was hit by a drunk driver while riding my motorcycle. It broke both the Tibia and Fibula out the front in my right leg. It was a very difficult time for me. I have always been an active person. I played my college soccer team, I worked out constantly. I did all sorts of activities outdoors and most importantly I ran. 3 surgeries later and 9 months time I could walk again. Over the next year I tried to run or jog to get my leg back. I tried everything, stair-steppers in the gym, treadmills, running on tracks (more like limping) but was not successful in running without a limp. I then realized just this past summer that I need to get a good mountain bike, that way I can ride no matter where I am. I bought a 2012 Trek Wahoo and absolutely loved it. I rode it all around. Shoot I rode it so much that I even got my brother and mother into biking. It’s very contagious.

Eric's Leg

 How did biking help in your rehabilitation?

 Biking was a whole new world. I could use my leg to its full potential without any harm of impact. After a few weeks of biking everyday after work I was starting to get more and more excited about staying healthy. A little under 2 months after I started to bicycle I did my first race (and came in 5th).This helped me keep my mind on track, racing and training. During this time I kept pushing myself to go further and further. Surprisingly there has been no pain in my right leg at all. I really did think that I would develop shin splints or something that would prevent me from biking (considering I have a rod and screws still in there.) That’s how I know biking as a sport in my life is a keeper.


Eric finishing his first race

What is the best part of bicycling/commuting in your city?

I’m not going to lie, there really isn’t any good biking where I live. I guess you could say once you road bike out of town a little it’s just country roads. but nothing exciting. 

What is the worst part of commuting/biking in your city?

It’s flat, no trails (unless you drive more than an hour south, even then there is only 1) The trails around here are usually on someones property and they just wind through trees. And when I say “trails” I really mean trail. There is one trail that’s 5 miles long around here. 

Your dream destination  to ride?

Honestly I don’t know… I have only known Kansas and Oklahoma trails. I would LOVE to go to Colorado or Arizona. I hear they have some really fun trails there.

Favorite trail or area to ride?

 One of my favorite places to ride is a place called Slaughter Pen Hollow in Bentonville Arkansas. It has a wide variety of trails and more than 20 miles at that. Also there is a free ride park with all sorts of jumps and obstacles to  ride over.

Trek Wahoo

What brand bike do you ride? Trek all the way

why do you think it’s important to be “Cyclelogical?”

 I think it’s important to be Cyclelogical because bicycling can change the world. If my job was within biking range I would do it everyday. it saves the planet, and keeps a person healthy. It’s a great way of life.

If you had a life motto what would it be?

Bike #2

 E=R, Effort=Results, If you put the effort into what you want to achieve, then the glory will follow

Any suggestions/websites/ info that has inspired you on your journey?

I like reading Mountain Bike Action magazine. They have a lot of good tips on how to be a great bicyclist. Another thing that really inspires me on my journey is the race scene. Crossing the finish line no matter the place makes me feel great. I am racing something that I love and staying healthy at the same time. It doesn’t get any better than that.

Author: cyclelogicalgear

As bicycle commuters, we see a need for durable, versatile, and practical commuting gear. After researching the existing market extensively, we found absolutely nothing that matched all of our needs for practical and efficient commuting. We, then, took upon ourselves to develop our own line of gear that we believe is the best out there. Cyclelogical exists to bring the best travel and bike commuter gear to the market. Our gear will get you to and from your destination, be it the office or the grocery store, with all the right equipment and just the right amount of options, no more....no less. Cyclelogical will get you there safely and totally in style! Our gear is made with the highest quality and most durable materials. We know, because we have researched them and tried them out. In addition, the Cyclelogical line of gear will also keep you safe and worry free on the road. Our mission at Cyclelogical is to help the environment by keeping gasoline consumption down, sustaining a healthy mind and body, and keeping the world we live in safe for bicycle commuting everywhere. WE ARE CYCLELOGICAL

Comments are closed.